late dinner

hunting bird

summer day fading

hungry eyes

 

imgp4045

hunting bird

imgp4084

summer day fading

imgp4067

hungry eyes

This Kookaburra has recently been seen and heard in Long Hollow reserve. We have come across it twice during our evening strolls. The local council has put up beware of snakes signs in this and the local parks after a number of tiger snakes were seen on coastal paths. Rumour has it one was also seen in this reserve. Maybe the Kookaburra read the sign and is on the lookout for a tasty snack.

This is my contribution to RonovanWrites Weekly Haiku Poetry Prompt Challenge 136 Eye  & Fade. Visit Ronovans blog  and read a vast array of creative haiku from around the world.  https://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2017/02/13/ronovanwrites-weekly-haiku-poetry-prompt-challenge-136-eyefade/

15 thoughts on “late dinner

  1. Now these beautiful words I can cope with – had to quickly skim over the spider post. Not a fan of spiders although I realise they are very useful just not near me (even in photos). I am a wimp!

    Like

      1. Oh my goodness. I just couldn’t cope with that at all. I haven’t sat out in the evening here for years since one descended in front of my face from some overhanging greenery. Oh eek.

        Like

    1. Thanks Vashti. We suspect it has found the snake and is coming back for another. Given we have never seen a snake in this reserve I think skinks and lizards and mice will be the main food.

      Like

Please leave a reply and share your thoughts

